Great Times, Great Friends, Great Outdoors

This is a filtered list of Day Events only.  To see all events - click here.  To see other types of event lists, hover over "Events" above and pick your desired list of events.

    • Sat, November 17, 2018
    • 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM
    • Golf Center Parkway and Ave 42 Indio, CA
    • 12
    Register

    East Indio Hills New Trail Clean Up and development

    In observance of National Public Lands Day, come join local groups and agencies working on our newest trail getting ready for the grand opening soon. Free T-shirt and ice cream while they last.

    7:30 AM Meet at PetsMart Palm Springs, Ramon/Crossley- Click Here for Map

    Contact Scott Connelly, email click here


                    





    • Wed, November 21, 2018
    • 9:00 AM - 1:30 PM
    • Palm Springs South Palm Canyon
    Join waitlist

    Get ready for Thanksgiving with a hike to a Palm Oasis. This is one our best natural areas which is habitat to a variety of desert vegetation and wildlife. Mountain/canyon views, and overlooking Palm Springs in the distance.  The turnaround point features a waterfall at a Palm Oasis.

    • Start time: 9:00am
    • Distance: 4.0 miles out and back
    • Difficulty: Moderate
    • Elevation:  900ft (gradual climb)
    • Terrain: Dirt, rocky, some minor bouldering
    • Duration:  3.5 hours 
    • Location: South Palm Canyon Dr. south end of the S. Lykken trail.


    Bring Ten Essentials (click here), water (2 to 3 liters recommended), trail snacks. Sun protection and layered clothing are recommended. 

    Carry Emergency Contact Information (ICE).

    Sturdy hiking footwear with good tread and adequate drinking water are required.

    Location/directions: Parking will be at the south end of the South Lykken trailhead. Ample parking along the west side of South Palm Canyon Dr. near the bridge.

    Map  Trailhead parking

    Contact Hike Leader: Sherwood C. Email

    Inclement weather may cancel.

    Health Problems/allergies  Discuss any medical concerns with the hike leader that may affect your ability to complete the hike.


    • Thu, November 22, 2018
    • 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM
    • Tahquitz Creek Golf parking lot 1885 Golf Club Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
    • 27
    Register

    This will be a 10 to 12 mile bike loop. Start your Thanksgiving Day with a bike ride around Palm Springs.

    The ride will start  at 10:00 am at Tahquitz Creek Golf parking lot near the sign at the entrance: Map

    Riders are encouraged to wear helmets. You may also wish to bring a tire pump, spare tire tube, maintenance tools, water, sunscreen.

    Contact: Scott Connelly EMAIL



    • Thu, November 29, 2018
    • 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    • Joshua Tree National Park CA
    • 0
    Join waitlist

    KEYS RANCH - RANGER GUIDED TOUR 

    One of the many wonders of Joshua Tree National Park is the historic Keys Ranch. It is the prime example of early settlement in the Joshua Tree National Park area. Bill Keys was the area's leading character, and his ranch is a symbol of the resourcefulness of early settlers. Early California history and colorful life stories are revealed during this Ranger guided tour. The site also has archaeological features that tells us about the lives of the early native Americans who inhabited this area. The ranch house, school house, store, and workshop still stand; the orchard has been replanted; and the grounds are full of the cars, trucks, mining equipment, and spare parts that are a part of the Desert Queen Ranch story. 

    Meeting Locations:

    • 11:00 AM Meet at Hunters on Arenas for 11:00 AM departure
    • Or 12:00 Noon at Park Service Visitor Center  6554 Park Blvd, Joshua Tree 
    • Trail Length: 1/2 mile
    • Hiking time: 90 minutes
    • Trailhead Elevation: 4200’
    • Difficulty Rating: Easy

    Carpooling is encouraged and may be available if offered by driver. You are responsible for arranging you own transportation or ride share. Arrive a few minutes early for briefing and carpooling. Distance to trailhead is 50 miles. 

    • Park entrance fee or Golden Age Passport applicable.
    • Bring  water (1 to 2 liters recommended), sun protection and layered clothing are recommended. 
    • Carry Emergency Contact Information (ICE).
    • Sturdy hiking footwear with good tread and adequate drinking water are required.

    Registration note: The initial sign up is for members only. Registration will be open to nonmembers and guest in two weeks. Sign up early while there is still space available.

    No refunds since we make advance payment to the NPS. 

    Contact Hike Leader:  Scott Connelly: EMAIL 

    Click here Photos previous hike 

    Weather Policy: Inclement weather may cancel.

    Health Problems/allergies  Discuss any medical concerns with the hike leader that may affect your ability to complete the hike.

    • Sun, December 09, 2018
    • 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    • Broken Yolk Cafe. 262 S. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92262
    • 41
    Register

       

    GOPS HOLIDAY PARTY

    Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018 - 5 to 9 PM

    Please join us for the annual Great Outdoors Holiday Party. This special event will be held at the Broken Yolk Cafe at 262 S. PALM CANYON DR. PALM SPRINGS, CA 92262 (click here for directions). Great Outdoors will have exclusive use of the Broken Yolk Cafe during this event.  

    Registration for this event is limited to GOPS members and their guest only. The attendance will be limited to 80 people.  Non-members may register after Nov. 29th (if space is available).

    We will provide a buffet-style dinner that includes appetizers, turkey, ham and vegetarian main courses, with many side dishes and desserts. Additionally, a full-service cash bar will be available for all beverages (alcohol and soft drinks). We will also have an ever-popular gift exchange, moderated by a special guest.  If you choose to participate in this optional event, please keep the gift value to about $20.

    The cost to members for this event is $12 per person. Guests (non GOPS members) may register for $20 per person. Payment must be made at time of registration. As part of the registration process, please choose a category to provide one of the following:

         1. A vegetable side dish

         2. A dessert

         3. Help with checking-in people, setup or cleanup.

    Payments Although a PayPal screen will appear requesting payment via PayPal, you can scroll down on that screen and pay with a credit card without needing a PayPal account.

    RefundsThere are NO REFUNDS for this event.  Payment must be made online at the time of registration. We may cancel unpaid registrations in order to allow others on the waitlist to attend.

    For questions, please contact David Warren via email (SocialEventsCoordinator-PS@GreatOutdoors.orgor call/text (760) 818-3696.

    • Fri, February 08, 2019
    • 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM
    • 1004 E. HOLTON RD, HOLTVILLE CA 92250
    • 25

    FARM TOUR - HOT SPRINGS - CARROT FESTIVAL

    SUNRISE ON THE FARM. Start your day with a warm breakfast followed by a hay-wagon tour of the UC Desert Research Center. Tour will include U-Pick fresh vegetable harvesting, door prizes, and information on Imperial Valley's top 10 commodities. Mid day we will visit the nearby Holtville hot springs. Bring your bathing shorts and towel for a soak in the hot springs. Bring Lunch for a picnic at the hot springs. Next stop will be downtown Holtville for the annual Carrot Festival and Street Fair

    Meeting Location: 6:30 AM Meet at PetsMart Palm Springs Ramon/Crossley for 6:30 AM departure

      Carpooling is encouraged and may be available if offered by driver. You are responsible for arranging you own transportation or ride share. Arrive a few minutes early for briefing and carpooling. Distance  is 109 miles, 2 hrs. travel

      FARM SMART tours offer a unique experience covering agriculture in Imperial Valley.  The tours also showcase research being done at UC Desert Research and Extension Center.  The Imperial Valley is a hidden treasure in the United States. Due to the warm climate and water accessibility, there are hundreds of different plant varieties that flourish in the desert atmosphere. While the fertile desert houses university research and plant variety development—few seem to know the incredible impact the Imperial Valley has on the agricultural industry.


      Weather Policy: Inclement weather may cancel.

      Health Problems/allergies  Discuss any medical concerns with the hike leader that may affect your ability to complete the hike.

    Past events

    Thu, November 15, 2018 HIKE: North Lykken Trail to Museum Trail Junction
    Sat, November 03, 2018 PS Pride Booth Volunteers November 3-4
    Thu, November 01, 2018 Pride Hike: East Indio Hills
    Fri, October 26, 2018 SPECIAL HALLOWEEN COSTUME PARTY hosted by George, Tony & Eddie.
    Wed, October 24, 2018 HIKE: MAGNESIA FALLS CANYON
    Sat, October 20, 2018 BIKE RIDE-MODERNISM WEEK
    Fri, October 19, 2018 BIKE: RIDE
    Wed, October 17, 2018 HIKE UPPER CARRIZO CANYON
    Thu, October 11, 2018 HIKE: GARRET'S ARCH JOSHUA TREE PARK
    Tue, October 09, 2018 BIKE: RIDE
    Sun, October 07, 2018 HIKE: FULLER RIDGE TO OVERLOOK
    Sat, October 06, 2018 GIANT ROCK: NAT'L PUBLIC LANDS DAY
    Sun, September 30, 2018 GOPS END OF SUMMER POOL PARTY!
    Wed, September 19, 2018 LA COUNTY FAIR
    Fri, August 31, 2018 HIKE: DISCOVER A HIDDEN JEWEL
    Tue, August 21, 2018 SUNSET HIKE & DINE
    Wed, August 08, 2018 HIKE: WELLMAN DIVIDE
    Thu, August 02, 2018 CANCELED: SUNSET HIKE & DINE
    Wed, August 01, 2018 T-Shirt Order: click register to shop
    Tue, July 24, 2018 Backpack: Cottonwood Lakes Loop
    Wed, July 18, 2018 HIKE & YOGA IN THE MT. SAN JACINTO WILDERNESS
    Fri, July 06, 2018 HIKES: Desert View -Lunch - Round Valley
    Wed, July 04, 2018 HIKE: Fourth of July Fireworks
    Wed, June 27, 2018 SUNSET POOL PARTY-POTLUCK
    Wed, June 13, 2018 HIKE: HIDDEN DIVIDE TO OVERLOOK
    Wed, June 06, 2018 HIKE: TRAM TO IDYLLWILD
    Sun, June 03, 2018 GOPS Member's SUMMER POOL PARTY!
    Thu, May 31, 2018 HIKE: Mt. San Jacinto Peak
    Wed, May 23, 2018 Hike - Deep Creek Hot Springs
    Sun, May 20, 2018 SKY WATCH
    Sat, May 19, 2018 HIKE: DEVIL'S SLIDE
    Wed, May 09, 2018 POOL PARTY-POTLUCK
    Sun, May 06, 2018 Hike Leader Training
    Sun, May 06, 2018 SKY WATCH
    Sun, April 15, 2018 HIKE: SLOT CANYON EXPERIENCE
    Fri, April 13, 2018 HIKE: Hidden Palms and Horseshoe Palms Oasis
    Sun, April 01, 2018 Indian Trail Loop Pioneertown Preserve
    Sat, March 31, 2018 Cathedral City LGBT Days
    Wed, March 28, 2018 East Indio Hills
    Sun, March 25, 2018 HIKE: Oswit Canyon
    Sat, March 24, 2018 HIKE: QUAIL SPRINGS TO JT & SSR
    Tue, March 20, 2018 HIKE: Wonderland of Rocks and Baker Dam
    Sun, March 04, 2018 HIKE: Ladder Canyon/Little Painted Canyon Loop
    Sat, March 03, 2018 WILDFLOWER FESTIVAL
    Thu, March 01, 2018 HIKE-HISTORY-SOAK
    Tue, February 27, 2018 HIKE: QUAIL SPRINGS TO JT & SSR
    Sat, February 24, 2018 HISTORICAL WALKING TOUR REDLANDS CA PART II
    Fri, February 23, 2018 CV LINK GRAND OPENING
    Wed, February 21, 2018 SUNSET BONFIRE-HIKE-POTLUCK
    Sat, February 17, 2018 Hike: North Lykken Trail to Museum Trail Junction
    Thu, February 15, 2018 GEOLOGY HIKE: Painted Canyon Mecca Hills 2018
    Wed, February 14, 2018 SPEAKER EVENT: HIKING IN COLORADO
    Sun, February 11, 2018 HIKE: McCallum Trail
    Tue, February 06, 2018 WILD COACHELLA FILM SCREENING
    Tue, February 06, 2018 HIKE & SPA
    Sun, February 04, 2018 Super Bowl 2018 - Hosted By Ed & Pete
    Sun, February 04, 2018 HIKE: WILLIS PALMS
    Sat, February 03, 2018 BIKE: CV LINK new section
    Sun, January 21, 2018 HIKE: Mecca Hills Little Utah Canyon
    Wed, January 03, 2018 WILD COACHELLA Part 3
    Thu, December 21, 2017 Hike: Solstice Hike at the Whitewater Preserve
    Sat, December 16, 2017 HIKE: MECCA HILLS SIENNA TRAIL
    Thu, December 14, 2017 Hike: Big Morongo Canyon Preserve
    Mon, December 11, 2017 HIKE: ARABY
    Fri, December 08, 2017 HIKE: MAGNESIA FALLS CANYON
    Wed, December 06, 2017 WILD COACHELLA
    Sun, December 03, 2017 Holiday Party
    Sat, December 02, 2017 HIKE: LOST PALMS OASIS JOSHUA TREE PARK
    Sat, November 25, 2017 GEOLOGY HIKE PAINTED CANYON MECCA HILLS
    Sat, November 18, 2017 HISTORICAL WALKING TOUR REDLANDS CA
    Tue, November 14, 2017 Lecture: Owls and Other Crepuscular Night Birds
    Sun, November 12, 2017 HIKE: Chaparrosa Peak
    Mon, November 06, 2017 Hike: Murray Hill
    Wed, November 01, 2017 Lecture: GHOST LAKE OF THE DESERT
    Tue, October 31, 2017 Lecture: HIKING IN THE COACHELLA VALLEY
    Mon, October 30, 2017 HIKE: WELLMAN DIVIDE
    Fri, October 27, 2017 SPECIAL HALLOWEEN COSTUME PARTY hosted by George, Tony & Eddie. PLEASE REGISTER.
    Wed, October 25, 2017 Hike: Murray Hill Cancelled due to heat
    Sun, October 22, 2017 MODERNISM BIKE RIDE
    Sat, October 21, 2017 Hike Leader Training Refresher
    Sun, October 15, 2017 INTERPRETED HIKE: ROUND VALLEY LOOP
    Thu, October 12, 2017 Hike: South Lykken Trail
    Wed, October 04, 2017 HIKE UPPER CARRIZO CANYON
    Sun, September 10, 2017 GOPS Member's Fall Pool Party!
    Thu, August 17, 2017 Round Valley Loop Hike
    Sun, August 06, 2017 National Monuments Presentation Update
    Sun, August 06, 2017 GOPS Member Appreciation Pool Party
    Thu, July 20, 2017 Tram Hike & Dine
    Tue, July 11, 2017 HIKE: Hidden Divide now Long Valley North
    Tue, July 04, 2017 HIKE: Fourth of July Fireworks
    Sun, June 25, 2017 Member's Summer Pool Party!
    Sun, June 11, 2017 HIKE: SAN JACINTO PEAK
    Sun, May 21, 2017 HIKE: WELLMAN DIVIDE
    Sat, May 20, 2017 HIKE: ROUND VALLEY LOOP
    Tue, May 16, 2017 Hike - Deep Creek Hot Springs
    Thu, May 11, 2017 Oak Glen Wildflower Walkabout/Hike
    Tue, May 09, 2017 HIKE: BIG MORONGO CANYON
    Sat, May 06, 2017 HIKE: LUCKY BOY-EAGLE CLIFF MINE
    Thu, April 20, 2017 HIKE: Mission Creek-Whitewater
    Tue, April 18, 2017 HIKE: MOON COUNTRY
    Sat, April 15, 2017 HIKE: The Maze
    Thu, April 13, 2017 HIKE: Cathedral Canyon
    Sat, April 08, 2017 Bike: Whitewater River Route

    2018 © Great Outdoors, Inc.. All rights reserved.
    Great Outdoors is a not for profit, all-volunteer LGBT organization (IRS 501(c)7 non-profit) dedicated to the enjoyment of outdoor recreation 
    Our mailing address is:  Great Outdoors PS, P.O. Box 361, Palm Springs, CA 92263-0361 
    You can l
    eave us a voicemail - (760) 282-GOPS or email 
    us at: Info-PS@GreatOutdoors.org - click here  

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software